

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

January 30, 2024

MEDIA CONTACT

Tim Aceves
Associate Director for Advancement
(805) 961-5378
tim@sbthp.org

Santa Barbara Trust for Historic Preservation Hosts 61st Annual Meeting

(SANTA BARBARA, CA) – The Santa Barbara Trust for Historic Preservation (SBTHP) hosted the 61st Annual Meeting on January 27, 2024, in the Chapel at El Presidio de Santa Bárbara State Historic Park. SBTHP members voted to elect new members Michael Drury and Jeffrey Sherwood to the board for a three-year term.

Following the election, SBTHP presented annual community awards and certificates of appreciation. Pam Post & Tim Hazeltine received the Pearl Chase Historic Preservation and Conservation Award for their 40 years of work helping designate historic buildings throughout the City of Santa Barbara and county-wide; Manuel Unzueta received the George and Vivian Obern Preservation Stewardship Award for his historical murals and work to preserve public art throughout Santa Barbara; Jeff Garfinkle received the Sue Higman Volunteer of the Year Award for his extensive volunteer work in the past year at Our Communities, Our Stories, Historical Games Day, Archaeology Day, and Día de los Muertos; the UCSB Interdisciplinary Humanities Center received the Partnership Award for their work with SBTHP's Public Engagement Department since 2019 and most recently their collaboration on a week-long teacher training: "The Making of Monuments;" and Luis Moreno was chosen as Life Honorary Member for his long work supporting SBTHP's numerous public programs.

SBTHP awarded certificates of appreciation to Simon Kerry for his work to keep Pearl Chase's legacy alive through his recent biography; Michael Montenegro for his sustained efforts to share Chicano history of Santa Barbara, celebration of public art, and his participation in SBTHP events and programs; and Chris Parker for his service to SBTHP's Property Management Committee.

2024 AWARDEES

PAM POST & TIM HAZELTINE

Pearl Chase Historic Preservation and Conservation Award

MANUEL UNZUETA

George and Vivian Obern Preservation Stewardship Award

JEFF GARFINKLE

Sue Higman Volunteer of the Year Award

UCSB INTERDISCIPLINARY HUMANITIES CENTER

Partnership Award

LUIS MORENO

Life Honorary Member

SIMON KERRY

Certificate of Appreciation

MICHAEL MONTENEGRO

Certificate of Appreciation

CHRIS PARKER

Certificate of Appreciation

For a full list of award winners, please visit sbthp.org/award-winners >>

BOARD MEMBERS ELECTED



MICHAEL DRURY

Michael Drury was born and raised in Santa Barbara. He was educated in public schools here, worked on a ranch north of Gaviota for many years, met Ray Strong in 1970, received a B.A. in art studio from UCSB College of Creative Studies in 1983, and an MFA from UCSB in 1985. He is a co-founder of the OAK Group, an environmentally active group of landscape painters, and currently serves on the Historic Landmarks Commission.



JEFFREY SHERWOOD

Jeff Sherwood and his wife Jae moved to Santa Barbara over three years ago from Annapolis, Maryland to be closer to children and grandchildren. A California native, Jeff graduated from Colby College and Stanford Law School. He had a national law practice based in Washington, D.C. and received numerous honors and recognitions for his courtroom work – primarily defense of patent infringement lawsuits. He is now fully retired and enjoying life in Santa Barbara, midway between family to the north and the south. He is a regular volunteer at Lotusland, The Ensemble Theater Company and the Santa Barbara

Foodbank. Jeff served three terms as the Parliamentarian for the Santa Barbara Newcomers Club. He is excited to be part of the SBTHP team. Jeff's pastimes include tennis, music, golf and painting.

BOARD MEMBERS RE-ELECTED TO A NEW THREE-YEAR TERM

Cody A. Makela Kyle Slattery Andrea Steward Kai Tepper

THE BOARD ELECTED THE FOLLOWING OFFICERS FOR A ONE-YEAR TERM

Michael Neal Arnold, President
Cody A. Makela, First Vice President
Kyle Slattery, Second Vice President
James Krautmann, Secretary
Shelley Bookspan, Treasurer
Anthony Grumbine, Immediate Past President

To view the entire Board of Directors, please visit <u>sbthp.org/staff >></u>

####

ABOUT THE PEARL CHASE HISTORIC PRESERVATION AND CONSERVATION AWARD

Each year the Santa Barbara Trust for Historic Preservation seeks to present the Pearl Chase Historic Preservation and Conservation Award to a deserving community member or organization dedicated to the values that Dr. Chase stood for in the fields of historic preservation and conservation. This annual lifetime achievement award serves as a tribute to the life and work of Pearl Chase, the famous leader of community activism and preservation in Santa Barbara, and to the work that continues today as a result of the inspiration she provided.

ABOUT THE GEORGE AND VIVIAN OBERN PRESERVATION STEWARDSHIP AWARD

The George and Vivian Obern Preservation Stewardship Award recognizes individuals or organizations that demonstrate outstanding preservation work in connection with a specific project in and around Santa Barbara County. This prestigious award was named in honor of George and Vivian Obern in 2006 for their lifelong preservation work, including their successful efforts to save the Thomas Hope House (built 1875, added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1978), condemned by the county of Santa Barbara but saved by the Oberns.

ABOUT THE SUE HIGMAN VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR AWARD

This award is given to an individual or individuals who have made outstanding contributions of their time to SBTHP over the course of a year. Established in 2010, the award is named in honor of longtime SBTHP supporter and friend, Sue Higman.

ABOUT THE PARTNERSHIP AWARD

Created in 2019, this award recognizes the value of partnership as adopted by SBTHP in 2018. The Partnership Award celebrates individuals or organizations who have participated in collaborative efforts that support SBTHP's mission and made a significant impact toward that end.

ABOUT LIFE HONORARY MEMBERS

Life Honorary Members are selected by the Board of Directors in honor of their distinguished service to SBTHP.

El Presidio de Santa Bárbara State Historic Park • Casa de la Guerra • Santa Inés Mission Mills • Jimmy's Oriental Gardens

123 East Canon Perdido Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2215 • (805) 965-0093 • sbthp.org

ABOUT CERTIFICATES OF APPRECIATION

Certificates of Appreciation are awarded in recognition for a variety of acts of service towards the mission of the Santa Barbara Trust for Historic Preservation.

ABOUT THE SANTA BARBARA TRUST FOR HISTORIC PRESERVATION

Founded in 1963 by Dr. Pearl Chase, the Santa Barbara Trust for Historic Preservation (SBTHP) stewards the past and present of the Presidio Neighborhood and inspires preservation advocacy throughout the County in order to create a more vibrant community. SBTHP operates El Presidio de Santa Bárbara State Historic Park, Santa Barbara's 18th century birthplace, under an agreement with California State Parks. In addition to portions of the Spanish fort, El Presidio SHP includes the Alhecama Theatre (1925) and the campus of the Santa Barbara School of the Arts, and Jimmy's Oriental Gardens (1947) the last visible connection to Santa Barbara's Chinatown. The organization also operates Casa de la Guerra, the 1820's adobe home of Presidio Comandante José de la Guerra, and the Santa Inés Mission Mills near Solvang, CA. SBTHP produces dozens of community and school programs throughout the year to provide access to these special historic places. SBTHP is 501(c)(3) non-profit organization; learn more at sbthp.org.