top of page

2022 Community Awards & Recognition

MARCH 26, 2022 · 1PM


215 East Canon Perdido Street

Santa Barbara, California

M. Kay Van Horn

Pearl Chase Historic Preservation and Conservation Award

Each year the Santa Barbara Trust for Historic Preservation seeks to present the Pearl Chase Historic Preservation and Conservation Award to a deserving community member or organization dedicated to the values that Dr. Chase stood for in the fields of historic preservation and conservation. This annual lifetime achievement award serves as a tribute to the life and work of Pearl Chase, the famous leader of community activism and preservation in Santa Barbara, and to the work that continues today as a result of the inspiration she provided.

George & Vivian Obern Preservation Stewardship Award

The George and Vivian Obern Preservation Stewardship Award recognizes individuals or organizations that demonstrate outstanding preservation work in connection with a specific project in and around Santa Barbara County. This prestigious award was named in honor of George and Vivian Obern in 2006 for their lifelong preservation work, including their successful efforts to save the Thomas Hope House (built 1875, added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1978), condemned by the county of Santa Barbara but saved by the Obern's.

City of Santa Barbara

Department of Parks and Recreation

for the restoration of the Cabrillo Pavilion

Sue Higman Volunteer of the Year Award

This award is given to an individual or individuals who have made outstanding contributions of their time to SBTHP over the course of a year. Established in 2010, the award is named in honor of longtime SBTHP supporter and friend, Sue Higman.

Pam Iuliano

SBTHP Partnership Award

Created in 2019, this award recognizes the value of partnership as adopted by SBTHP in 2018. The Partnership Award celebrates individuals or organizations who have participated in collaborative efforts that support SBTHP’s mission and made a significant impact toward that end. 

Mujeres Makers Market

SBTHP President's Award

This award, chosen by the President of the Board, recognizes extraordinary contributions to the organization in the prior year.

Cody A. Makela

Certificates of Appreciation

In honor of their contributions during 2021, SBTHP honors the following:

Maria Cabrera

D.J. Javier

Clay Lovejoy & The Pickle Room

Forrest Mori

Life Honorary Director  //  Craig A. Makela

Life Honorary Member  //  Nicole Hernandez

bottom of page